Simplicity is Key in Creating a Wine Deal

Like so many of you, I love deals on wine. I am stumped at times when a basic principle is lacking from the structure of most of these deals from the consumer perspective. That principle is “Keep it Simple So I Know What I’m Getting for What I’m Spending“. Yeah, it’s a bit of a mouthful, but it’s entirely true. Stay with me on this one.

I see deals like “6 bottle for $99 plus shipping” or “25% off plus shipping” or “15% off a mixed case”. These types of deals turn me off. Here’s why. I need to know “What I’m Getting for What I’m Spending” in a simple equation. I don’t come home after 10-12 hour days to take out a calculator to figure out a winery deal by totaling up the cost for the wine, the percent off including different prices for a mixed box, tax, and shipping costs. I just want to know exactly what I am getting for my money. It’s really that simple.

Here are a couple examples of deals I would bite off on. First one is “6 bottles of our 2008 Cabernet Sauvignon including Shipping to the contiguous 48 states for $149 plus tax“. You see, we’re all used to adding tax when we go to Costco, right? So this is no more thinking than usual. I know exactly what I am getting and for how much. Here’s another easy deal “A case of our 2011 Sauvignon Blanc including Shipping for $99“.

We can do the math on tax, but wineries, please don’t create deals that have us look up retail, take a percent off of that, hunt down what shipping will cost and add tax. This is way too much work fo fill my waiting glass. I want your best and simplest value proposition right out of the gate because I thirst for wine. Remember, I too had a long day and if you have a deal I can put my arms around as easily as my loved ones, I’m yours and I might even ‘friend‘ you. Otherwise, it’s “deletesville” for your proposition.

Folks, I help with my kids’ math, I do the banking, run a half dozen servers, review my paycheck, calculate taxes for home and business, and whenever I buy a high-ticket (> $1,000) item, I do the math as tax and delivery may cut into the value of the deal. So please don’t make me beg like a dog to get the straight scoop, nice and easy! I’m just not THAT into math! But I am into drinking great wine for a great price. So show me something that makes it easy for me to say “yes“.

Remember, we want a deal, but we’re a lot more open if wineries keep it simple! Woof!

About misteredwine

Owner of WineMatch.com, Roundbrix.com, love wine, horses, things done right, my three girls and two boys, Paris and most things French, technology that works, Rogue River Blue Cheese, a day off!
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

